QBE continues German expansion with new hires

QBE Germany has shown further commitment to growth in the German market with the recent appointment of five new, experienced employees based at the Australian insurer’s Düsseldorf HQ.

Stefan Kunde and Andrew Billington started in July, followed by Alexander ter Steege, Melanie Malina and Sebastiaan Lambalk in August.

“With the five new, committed employees, we can further strengthen our team in Düsseldorf and expand our capacities. We are therefore very pleased about the further growth and look positively into the future with regard to our growth ambitions,” says Andrea Brock, chief representative of QBE Europe.

QBE first opened its branch in Düsseldorf in 2007. This was followed by a representative office in Munich in 2011.

Mr Kunde joined QBE in July as assistant underwriter property, with ten years’ professional experience in the insurance industry. He previously worked for MSIG Insurance Europe and Aviaco.

Mr Billington occupies the position of capital modelling manager, having gained many years of professional experience at ERGO as capital modelling actuary and at Liberty Specialty Markets in Cologne as reinsurance actuary.

Mr ter Steege started as underwriter financial and specialty markets. As a former account manager at a German subsidiary of the international broker Howden Group, he has many years of experience advising on manager liability and legal protection.

Ms Malina has been country HR manager at QBE since August. Most recently, she was senior HR business partner at Emerson Process Management and HR manager at Habitat Deutschland. She brings 25 years of HR experience in automation and process control technology, as well as in retail.

Mr Lambalk joins QBE as strategy executive for Europe, with 14 years of professional experience in the insurance industry. For the past 12 years, he has worked for the insurance company MS Amlin in various functions, mainly focused on strategy development and digitalisation.

The latest additions to the QBE Germany team followed the appointment of Lars Wagenknecht and Jan Schultz in January; Martina Nierste in March; and Joachim von Lauff, David Hagen, Fatih Ceylan and Lisa Haubrich in April and May.

Back to top button